« Apple's iChat proves indispensable to moviemaker | Main | AAPL stock continues rebound, boosted by Mac’s growing market share »

No Mac OS X for non-Apple PCs, after all: Psystar called bogus

All the speculation on what it might mean that a company dared incur Apple’s wrath by building cheap PCs with Mac OS X installed now appears moot. The consensus emerging on the Mac Web now is that Psystar is a hoax.

Having read the Mike Himowitz column that appears in today’s Sun, I went on a hunt for more information about the company. Since I have been working unusually long hours this week I’ve gotten behind on my Apple news.

While I missed the initial flurry of excitement over the prospect of a company selling very inexpensive Mac clones – we’re talking $555 for a base model and $999 for the “OpenPro”-- a search on Google News uncovered a growing number or articles questioning the legitimacy of Psystar.

The Guardian’s Charles Arthur started it April 15 when he wrote of his investigation of the company. He found that the Web address had been registered in 2000 but that he could find no information on Psystar from then until this week.

Arthur called the Miami Better Business Bureau and Chamber of Commerce, neither of which had heard of Psystar.

When Arthur called the company, he struggled to get a human on the phone. The man he spoke with kept telling Arthur to send his questions to press@psystar.com.

Most suspicious of all, the physical address listed on Psystar’s Web site changed while Arthur was conducting his investigation. The next day, the address changed again.

Gizmodo readers in Miami picked up where Arthur left off and went to all the physical addresses that appeared on Psystar’s site. They found no evidence any such company had ever existed at any of the locations. One was a residence and one was a packing supply company that knew nothing of Psystar.

Anyone considering buying a computer from Psystar should put away their credit card until (and unless) the company puts to rest the doubts that have been raised. I can’t say I’m optimistic that it will.

Comments

I think the press should note that the PsyStar's sudden showing is probably someone's ploy to divert attention from the otherwise uneventful MacWorld.

I am not a fan of the Apple equipment but am would like to sample the OS.

If the OS was available with PC clone hardware or without, I'd buy it just to taste it.

I wonder if the site is just there to act as a hit counter to see if anyone would really pay for the OS only as an alternative to Vista...

@m2iCodeJockey: if you have the right equipment, hacks and technical expertise, you can get a copy of leopard running on PC hardware. Sites such as Lifehacker show you how. But the issue comes from the level of stability and whether or not Apple updates will trash your system once it's built. However this is a good solution for someone who wants to try out the mac os and decide whether they want to buy an Apple computer. I actually tried the mac os years ago on hacked computer called Corecrib, which used cheap mac parts in a PC case. Apple shut the company down since then, but it allowed me to try out the mac os at a lower barrier of entry. I've been an Apple user ever since and my friends have since bought macbooks and imacs because of my experience with it.

I wouldn't recommend it to someone that doesn't know how to build or troubleshoot computer issues; hence this (or the Psystar solution) is not for the average user.

More bad reporting.

Add your name to the list of bad reporters David Zeiler.

There is some wiggle room for Guardian reporters to be clueless about trying to find information on an American company, but that is unlikely. American reporters, like you David Zeiler, should know that the BBB and the Chamber of Commerce have nothing to do with registering a business and know nothing about most businesses. Anyone who has any business experience would know that one could find information where it belongs, in the state business registry, in just a few minutes checking. Psystar is there. Registered last year.

Are you going to do the right thing, after your FUD campaign is over, and apologize for being wrong. Psystar isn't a hoax, it's just a small business owner with a great idea, which for some reason you want to stir up controversy over.

That Mac reporting community has done a horrible job of reporting, as we've come to expect. The good that comes out of this is that when the slander you and your buddies spew, it will turn out to be some good exposure for Psystar. After all, there is no such thing as bad advertising.

We're in the process of moving to a new location which is now listed on our contact page. The first new address posted (10481) was in error and our correct address is 10475 NW 28th Street. PSYSTAR was, prior to this past week, not ready to handle the enormous production capacity demanded by the online community. Due to the incredible response we have now expanded to a larger commercial unit to handle the supplies and assembly of Open Computers. THANK YOU for all of your orders.

Midday yesterday our store was not receiving any orders. This was due to the fact that our merchant gateway, Powerpay, dropped the ball on us and refused to process any more transactions from our company. We have reverted to Paypal until we can find a high-volume merchant. Apparently Powerpay was not ready to handle the community's demand for Open Computing.

If you're experiencing problems with our online store then please send a detailed e-mail to support@psystar.comThis e-mail address is being protected from spambots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it that will include the following facts about the computer that you're trying use our website with:

Operating System
Web Browser and version
any error messages that you may receive

Due to the wave of orders for Open Computers coming through there is currently a 10 to 12 day build time for all products.

i think that if people want to sample Leopard, they should either do one of two things:

1) go to an apple store

2) do a search on "iATKOS", "Kalyway", or "x86 project".

i've gone both routes and do plan on buying a mac in the NEAR future.

Jerry and Flapper - please tell me you are involved with psystar somehow - because otherwise you are very naive.

I don't see what the big deal is, I bought a mac clone from thetechberrystore.com two weeks ago, and it was cheaper than psystar

It's a hoax, people. Deal with it. Don't feel bad if you fell for it, a lot of people did. Just call your bank NOW and cancel your credit card.

This is the sh****est piece of "journalism" I've ever seen.

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

Please enter the letter "t" in the field below:
About David Zeiler
David ZeilerDavid Zeiler follows all developments related to Apple, Inc. Having spent his early computing years on the Apple II platform, he moved to the Mac in 1993.

At The Baltimore Sun he designs pages, compelled against his will to work on a Windows-based PC.
Most Recent Comments
-- ADVERTISEMENT --

Baltimore Sun coverage
Technology news
Photo galleries
 
Classified | News | Maryland | Sports | Business | Entertainment | Life | Opinion | Blogs | Twitter feeds | RSS feeds
About baltimoresun.com | About The Baltimore Sun | Tribune | Get home delivery | Advertise | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Feedback